Long time reader

Hii all,

So love the layout have been a arm chair reader of the site for years. I hope it is ok, that I am a HO Modeler vs O Scale. I am in a small 1950’s house and also been a HO modeler for 30+ years. But the one thing I share in common with this group is I have been a Porto-Freelance modeler since the early 1990’s. When I was 15 was part of a HO Club that had SAMM for a RR name and there was a yard Called Sagana. I created the railroad Sagana Northern then with love for the Rock Island, C&O and many others. I wanted the molders freedom to crate a “twist” on history as we know it today.

I just love the control panels you guys have created. Being in A/V automation my entire career. I have adapted it to my model railroad. This 10" touch screen panel controls the switches at Laurel Creek Yard, Sagana, KY.

I have been wanting to learn more about O Scale also what looks the most proto-typcial vs “toy like” is there GP35’s in O that look as good as say a Modern Gold series Atlas 35 vs a Kato that needs lots of work to be correct?

Great layout guys and just wanted to share a neighbor layout set in KY!

Mike Kisser

Mike -

That’s a clean looking way to do a control panel. How are you driving the touchscreen and the switch motors?

Generally speaking, the level of detail and operating performance of modern HO is fantastic. I’m quite impressed. Some locals find details to be delicate and easily broken during operating sessions.

Back in the 1980s Overland imported quite a few different variations of the GP35. The detail is pretty nice. I have one N&W high-hood, a GM&O version painted A&O with trade-in Alco trucks, and a few others waiting in the closet to be rebuilt.

If you pick up a vintage Overland GP35, don’t expect it to be an RTR experience!